Courthouse: 13 West 3rd, La Junta, CO
Annex: 215 Raton, La Junta, CO

Office Hours:  8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday


Home of the Colorado Cities and Towns of:
La Junta  |  Cheraw  |  Fowler  |  Manzanola  |  Rocky Ford  |  Swink


Public Assistance

The Department of Human Services provides assistance in the form of financial and medical programs to help individuals and families in Otero County that qualify. 

Click on the PEAK link below if you are interested in finding out if you and your household may qualify for public assistance. Completing an inquiry does not commit you to applying for assistance, nor should an inquiry result stating your household "may not be eligible" for assistance keep you from applying.

COLORADO PEAK - Program Eligibility and Application Kit


Otero County manages these programs under the administration of the Colorado Department of Human Services and the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing.


Public Assistance Programs:


Food Assistance Program

Family Medicaid Program

Colorado Works (TANF)

Old Age Pension (OAP)

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB)

Special Low Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB)

Low Income Subsidy (LIS)

Home Community Based Services (HCBS)

Home Care Allowance (HCA)

Colorado Supplement to SSI (C/S)


Helpful Links:


Click the link below to download a printable application: (This will redirect you to the State's website. You
will need to click the back button to return to this site.)


Go to top